Gerhard Schubert GmbH

Gerhard Schubert

The many variants of machineable cardboard trays are real alternatives to plastic and are kind to the environment.

Gerhard Schubert GmbH is one of the world market leaders for top-loading packaging machines (TLM). The family-owned company from Crailsheim relies on an interplay of simple mechanics, intelligent control technology and high modularity for its digital, robot-based packaging machines. The TLM packaging machines pack products of all types and sectors - from food, confectionery, beverages, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics to technical articles - in trays, cartons, boxes, bottles, tubes or tubular bags.

"Are there cardboard trays with the same functionality as plastic trays?" New answers to this question are currently being found almost daily in the development of food packaging. This is because the market is emphatically demanding the consistent elimination of unnecessary plastic. Apart from aroma tightness, cardboard is an optimal alternative in many functional matters, be it for fixing yogurt pots, for positioning stacks of cookies or for the shingled arrangement of a row of pastries. Time and again, such functions can be achieved without any significant additional expense for material and machine. A win-win for the customer, the consumer and, of course, the environment.

In the course of recent developments, three basic designs of machineable cardboard trays have emerged at Schubert, representing the most essential customer requirement: the creation of individual cavities with the aid of dividers, e.g. to keep cookies in an accurate stack.

For example, there is a version in which webs can be folded out of the side wall and the bottom without additional effort, similar to a knee joint. This version has already been in use for a few years on a Schubert machine at a major Dutch cookie manufacturer.

The second version is characterized by the all-round closed side walls. With the help of pre-glued sidewall wrappers, a flawless appearance is created that prevents crumbs from falling out. Charming side effect: due to the pre-glued design, the tray is self-supporting and does not require a single drop of glue in the packaging machine.

The third variant minimizes the free "wandering" of crumbs or crumbles between the nests. For this purpose, fully dividing partitions are folded into the tray body. The result is almost perfectly separated cavities in the bottom area as well as an attractive visual appearance.

The substitution of plastic packaging while retaining form-giving functionality will be a process of constant change. The multi-layered customer-specific requirements present development teams with new perspectives that require rethinking what already exists. The next big topic has already been brought into focus: the reliable fixation of beverage bottles in carton sleeves - without higher material consumption, of course. The market for carton packaging remains exciting.

At a glance

  • Cardboard trays instead of plastic while retaining form-giving functionality
  • Different designs for different requirements available
  • Some functions integrateable without significant additional expenditure for material and machine
  • Packaging design in order to save costs and help the environment
  • Fields of application: Packaging of food products, e.g. cookies.

 

For technical questions please contact:

Valentin Köhler, Gerhard Schubert GmbH

Phone: +49 7951 400 - 429, Email: v.koehler@gerhard-schubert.de

www.schubert.group

 

Note: You can download the complete article here below.

 

Downloads

Gerhard Schubert GmbH

Gerhard Schubert

Die vielen Varianten von maschinengängigen Kartontrays sind echte Alternativen zum Kunststoff und schonen die Umwelt.

Die Gerhard Schubert GmbH ist einer der Weltmarktführer für Toploading-Verpackungsmaschinen (TLM). Das Familienunternehmen aus Crailsheim setzt bei seinen digitalen, roboterbasierten Verpackungsmaschinen auf ein Zusammenspiel von einfacher Mechanik, intelligenter Steuerungstechnik und hoher Modularität. Die TLM-Verpackungsmaschinen verpacken Produkte jeglicher Art und Branche – von Lebensmitteln, Süßwaren, Getränken, Pharmazeutika und Kosmetik bis zu technischen Artikeln – in Trays, Kartons, Schachteln, Flaschen, Tuben oder Schlauchbeutel.

 

„Gibt es Kartontrays mit gleicher Funktionalität wie Kunststofftrays?“ Bei der Entwickung von Lebensmittel-Verpackungen werden derzeit fast täglich neue Antworten auf diese Frage gefunden. Denn der Markt fordert nachdrücklich den konsequenten Weggang von unnötigem Kunststoff. Abgesehen von der Aromadichtheit ist in vielen funktionalen Fragen Karton eine optimale Alternative, sei es zur Fixierung von Joghurtbechern, zur Positionierung von Kekstapeln oder zur geschuppten Anordnung einer Gebäckreihe. Immer wieder können solche Funktionen ohne nennenswerten Mehraufwand für Material und Maschine erzielt werden. Ein Win-Win für den Kunden, den Verbraucher und natürlich auch für die Umwelt.

Im Zuge jüngster Entwicklungen haben sich bei der Firma Schubert drei Grundkonstruktionen von maschinengängigen Kartontrays herauskristallisiert, die die wesentlichste Kundenanforderung repräsentieren: die Erschaffung einzelner Kavitäten mithilfe von Trennstegen, um z. B. Kekse in einem akkuraten Stapel zu bewahren.

So gibt es eine Version, bei der ohne Mehraufwand Stege aus der Seitenwand und dem Boden herausgeklappt werden, ähnlich einem Kniegelenk. Diese Version ist bereits seit einigen Jahren auf einer Schubert-Maschine bei einem großen Niederländischen Keks-Hersteller im Einsatz.

Die zweite Variante zeichnet sich durch umlaufende Geschlossenheit der Seitenwände aus. Mithilfe von vorverklebten Seitenwand-Einschlägen entsteht ein makelloses Erscheinungsbild, das das Herausfallen von Krümeln verhindert. Charmanter Nebeneffekt: durch die Einkrempelungen ist die Traykonstruktion selbsttragend und benötigt in der Verpackungsmaschine keinen einzigen Tropfen Leim.

Die dritte Variante minimiert das freie „Wandern“ von Krümeln oder Streuseln zwischen den Nestern. Dafür werden vollflächig verschließende Trennwände in den Tray-Körper eingeklappt. Das Ergebnis sind im Bodenbereich nahezu perfekt abgetrennte Kavitäten sowie ein ansprechendes optisches Erscheinungsbild.

Die Substitution von Kunststoff-Verpackungen unter Beibehaltung formgebender Funktionalität wird ein Prozess stetigen Wandels sein. Die vielschichtigen kundenspezifischen Anforderungen stellen Entwicklerteams vor neue Sichtweisen, die ein Neu-Denken des Vorhandenen erfordern. Schon hat man das nächste große Thema in den Fokus gerückt: die zuverlässige Fixierung von Getränkeflaschen in Kartonmanschetten – natürlich ohne höheren Materialverbrauch. Auf dem Markt der Karton-Verpackungen bleibt es spannend.

 

Auf einen Blick

  • Kartontrays statt Kunststoff unter Beibehaltung formgebender Funktionalität
  • Unterschiedliche Varianten für unterschiedliche Kundenanforderungen
  • Manche Funktionen ohne erheblichen Mehraufwand für Material und Maschine integrierbar
  • Clevere Verpackungen können Kosten verringern und die Umwelt schonen
  • Anwendungsgebiete: Verpackung von Lebensmitteln, z.B. von Keksen

 

Für fachliche Fragen kontaktieren Sie bitte:

Valentin Köhler, Gerhard Schubert GmbH

Telefon: +49 7951 400 - 429, Email: v.koehler@gerhard-schubert.de

www.schubert.group

 

Hinweis: Den vollständigen Artikel finden Sie hier unten zum Download.

 

Downloads